The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the anthropologist—Dr. Karp’s point of view, the research conducted in the interview-centered method disputed the conclusion conducted from Dr. Field’s research, and also the method he adopted is superior in related to the accuracy of describing the child-rearing traditions. On the first glance, the author’s statement seems plausible, however, With a careful scrutiny, the evidence is fraught with holes and not persuasive. I can not agree with his claim if more detailed evidence failed to be presented.

First of all, the author stated that his interviews with children reveals that children are talking more about their biological parents instead of other adults. The author only mentioned that the children who he talked with are from island including Tertia, without providing detailed information about where the children grow up, it is hard for people to agree that the child interviewed are the same group of kids in Dr. Field’s research. Therefore, without promising that the subjects are the same, one can not jumped into conclusion to repute the findings of prior research. On the contrary, If there are evidence shows that Dr. Karp did asked the same children who Dr. Field, we may able to deem that Dr. Field’s conclusion is worth to take a consideration.

Secondly, even if the conclusion that Dr. Field made is not correct, it doesn’t grant that the method he used is not a good and efficient one. The author failed to provide other evidence that shows the disadvantage of applying the observation-centered method, such as numbers of other research which used the same method also yield false results, without these vital evidence, it is hard to blame the method Dr. Field adopted for the failure of gathered wrong findings.

Moreover, the author boldly stated that his interview-centered method is more accurate than the data gathered by observation-centered approach. However, he again did not offer evidence that indicate the accuracy of the result he got. If evidence showed that the children were asked more questions about their biological parents and rarely mentioned other adults in the interview’s question, we can not trust the conclusion that the children spent more time with their biological parents, then it is reasonable to say that the interviewed method is a misleading one.

Over all, after exam the evidence provided in the argument, it is apparently that the lack of vital evidence weaken the validity of Dr. Karp’s assertion. Without information to validate the accuracy of the result of his research, and more research failure to prove observation-centered method is inferior, we can hardly be convinced by the author.