A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program.The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author asserted that Sherwood Hospital suppose to establish a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to develop an adopt-a-dog program, he based this strategy on several assumptions that are tenuous according to the evidences he offered.

First of all, he falsely assumed there is a positive relation between having a dog and the lower rate of develop heart disease. Even though the author cited a recent study reported that people who have pets is averagely healthier and have a longer live, due to the lack of detail information of the study, the assumption that having a pet will increase the health condition of one is unwarranted. There is possibility that the people who have pet normally eat healthier and work out their body more often compare with those who don’t have a pet, in this case, diet pattern and exercise is the key factor that impact one’s health instead of having pets. Thus, the assumption that introduce pet into patient’s life will sure decrease their heart disease development will not be established.

Secondly, the author made a assumption that introducing dog to heart disease patient will bring down the need of further medical treatment, however he failed to provide relative information to support this posit. There are people who us allergic to dog fur, if allergic triggered, it will sure put heavier pressure to the patients heart burden and their heart disease will be worse. Considering this situation, it would do more harm than good if the hospital adopted the author’s all-inclusive measurement.

Moreover, the author assumes that the program will promoted the reduction of incidence of heart disease in the general population. Even in the area that people will benefited from having pet in terms of their health. It doesn’t grant that this program is suitable for other areas, there are places where people living under poverty, it is difficult for them to maintain a family’s life, not to say to afford the money for keep a pet, some people are so sick due to severe heart problem that it would be a huge physical challenge for them to walk a dog, for them, it will not be appropriate to take the author’s advice.

To sum up, before implement the program, hospital need to prove that the assumption of the author is right in order to avoid the risk of waste hospital’s resources.