The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree to disagree with the statement and explain you reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways i which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some people deems that whether an individual’s achievement is consider great or not is decided by the later generation instead of their peers during the same time. In my point of view, the answer depends on what area an individual pursue his/her career. For artist and political officials, it is more likely that the later generation would give a more objective and comprehensive critics to their achievement. On the contrary, as for leaders in any general corporation, there employees and consumers would give a better understanding to their efforts.

As for artist, who achieve their art work with a strong personal taste that not follow the majorities of their peers, often gain objections due to the divergence to the mainstream. Take Vincent van Gogh for example, he is a famous Dutch painter and influencial figures in the history of Western art, however, his work did not gain acceptance during his life time and he suffered poverty most of his life. Though it is understandable that people living in his time are not prepared with sufficient knowledge to understand artist work, it doesn’t mean that we could take their opinion as evidence to dispute the greatness of him. Same as politic figures, Xiaoping Deng, who is the first leader that encourage the reformation of Chinese economic development strategy, helped china choose a way that most of people in that time find to bold and obey the previous leader’s will, however, the later successful of china economy growth has proven how great his attribution is.

However, there are leaders need to be assessed by the people followed them and the population who they influenced the most. Such as the CEO of the monopoles, what they do may not affect the future generation greater than the current people, such as the decision to set factories in which places, would greatly influence the price of product and job opportunities open to which places. Most factories closed the native plants due to seeking lower labor price in other country while ignoring the importance that jobs means to the local people. It would be reasonable to consider what the contemporaries say about the leaders. And if the quality compromised for the seek of lower cost, the voices of customer must to be heard when it comes to judging the leader’s behaviors.

In a word, it is the areas and nature of one’s work that determined whether the people in the same time or the later generation can provide a better consideration to the greatness of one individual.