The following appeared in a memorandum from the general manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that radio station KNOW should shift its programming from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of recorded music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. The switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will attract older listeners and secure KNOW radio's future."

The author argues to switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news because of less number of listeners with a view to secure KNOW radio's future. Stated this way, the arguments fail to consider several key facts, shreds of evidence, circumstances, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. Moreover, the author provides poor reasoning and inappropriate assumptions. After prim analysis of the author's argument, it can be seen that the shreds of evidence provided by the author do not support the argument to a greater extent. Thus, it can be concluded that the argument is incomplete and improper.

Firstly, it is not at all necessary that this city's listeners should be same as those of the neighboring cities. As stated by the author, that he should consider changing the rock and roll music to 24-hour news is completely unconvincing and derived from other cities statistics. Rather, the author should consider this city's statistics to conclude to any decision. Thus, the author should not consider poor shreds of evidence from other cities rather depend on the people's opinion in this city.

Secondly, the reason of decline in sales of recorded music might be because people like to hear it on the radio or might have other devices which provide them with the same music in much cheaper amount. Also, the stores taken into consideration might have a poor collection of music and thus results in lower sales. For example, if an average number of people like to listen to Arjit's song and the music stores have less collection of that artist then obviously the overall sales will decrease. Thus, the author before concluding from a given statistics should check for its validity and whether it is coming from the right source or now. Moreover, the author should himself look into the topic and questions like why there is a decline in sales or number listeners should be asked to get a greater insight of the topic.

Thirdly, the radio's rock and roll music collection might have bored the listener and people might find the music old. Moreover, the author should take into consideration the increasing fad for the type of rock and roll music and should try to update the music collection. For example, the listeners want to hear the latest music by Martin and the radio station does not play any of his songs then it is right from the listeners perspective to stop listening to the radio. And hence, there might be a decrease in the number of listeners leaving behind more number of fifty aged people and above who are there just to listen to their favorite music.

In conclusion, it can be stated that the author's argument is unconvincing as it stands. Further to support, the author can provide concrete shreds of evidence and assumptions, perhaps by undertaking a detailed survey of the listeners of KNOW radio. Finally, the author can evaluate the given situation by completely understanding situation by doing rounds of question about how/why there is a decline in the listeners of rock and roll music.