The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too."

The author claims that starting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, profits will increase. Stated this way, the argument fails to consider several key points, shreds of evidence, circumstances, on the basis of which it can be evaluated. Moreover, the author provides instances with poor reasoning and inappropriate assumptions. After prim analysis of the author's argument, it can be seen that the author provides shreds of evidence which do not support the argument to a greater extent. Thus, it can be said that the argument is incomplete and improper.

Firstly, the author provides some statistics that show a decrease in the audience in last ten years. This is a great thing but the author does not do any further investigation on why this thing is happening. One of the reasons might be that the people would have lost interest in the show presented at the theatre. Moreover, it might be the case that people find it difficult to get to the theatre because of the theatre not being centrally located. So basically, there might be various reasons behind people not attending the show. The author neglects this fact. As a result, it is not just marketing or advertisement but the main problem might lie in other fields like people's interest as discussed above.

Secondly, the author compares the theatre with Avon Company and study how that company formulates a strategy to attract the audience. But the flaw here is that the author should first go into depth about whether the other company's work relates to the theatre's work, what the other company is? when was it started? why is the company carrying out such programs in the park? The main view behind all this would be to get an insight of what the other company is up to. If the answer to all the questions gives a satisfactory solution as well as relates to theatre's situation then only the solution should be adopted.

Thirdly, the author should check into the scripts for the show. This is because, it might be the case that people find the show repeated, monotonous, boring, etc. Furthermore, the characters played by the people might not depict what actually had happened in the past because of poor acting or script. And also, the way people play the role might be inappropriate. Altogether, the situation has multiple viewpoints and thus, it creates a controversial situation. In order to overcome this, hosting a program in the park is not the best option. Rather there are other methods related to statistics that might help in a better way.

In conclusion, the argument is unconvincing as it stands. To support further, the author can provide a better or more concrete shred of evidence, perhaps by undertaking a detailed survey of the topic. Finally, the author can assess the argument in a better way by going into the depth and asking the questions like how, why, when to the topic of "If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too."