The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them the sense of cooperation, not competition.

The leader is the one who finds the path to accomplish the goals and help others by giving them prim guidance and direction to achieve the same goal together. A leader should have the qualities of being focused, impartial, dedicated and along with this he/she should be kind, caring, understanding others and last but not the least, cooperative!

Cooperation is a term which itself help us to understand that the person will be working with others in a friendly manner and also help them whenever they are in need without bringing in any ego. If you are competitive by nature it will surely help you to be at top of all others but it won't make you a leader. As stated above, a leader will always be there for others and thus, being cooperative will make you a leader and being competitive will make you a boss.

Being cooperative will create an environment of togetherness as compared to being competitive will create an environment of competition. Moreover, working in an environment where everyone is working together will give you a team as a whole which will help you in accomplishing the goals very easily and in very less time. Thus, this will have more impact as a leader than compared to being in a competitive environment.

Also, if you don't compete you will be left behind in the race of life but this will not help you in long term basis and will surely not make you a leader. This will create a bad impression in other people's mind and you won't be placed in their good books. Being competitive will make others think that you are selfish and always want to be above all others. So, people will never come and help you! This all can be summarized as you as a person would not stand as an ideal person in their minds and they won't choose you as their leader.

Thus, competition will make you stand above all others but cooperation will make you stand among all of them. So, for being a good leader one should surely inculcate the attitude of being cooperative rather than being competitive.