The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil."Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for he

Although the argument for an increase in demand for heating oil seems to make sense, there are still many questions to answer. This trend may be the correct prediction of the retail sales of home heating oil; however, we should not overestimate the investment process, we should make more efforts in sampling.

First, we must clarify what the assumptions on which the argument depends. For example, although climate forecasters' predictions may seem reasonable, as stated by the argument, weather patterns may last for years; however, we cannot ensure that these customers' responses to the climate match the requirements of the promised investment recommendations. Let us take the example of a new home built in the area. Can we think that the increase in the number of new homes accurately predicts the increase in demand for heating oil? What if these new residents like to use electronic heating equipment and give up old-fashioned heating oil?

If the investment advice is based on false assumptions about growing demand, then this argument is simply unreasonable. Let us judge this suggestion from another point of view and further discuss the concerns described below. The argument points out that the increase in the number of new homes reflects recent population growth, and the trend has led to an increase in demand for heating oil, as the weather for the next year is still very cold; however, anyone can easily find some of these arguments. Defects and some unspecified assumptions. For example, what kind of people are new residents? Maybe they are young people who embrace the latest heating technology, or they are all elders, because this place may be a good place for those who are retired. Second, what if the forecast for population growth or climate forecasters is not accurate? What if these predictions come from wrong assumptions?

In addition, if the government takes some action against extremely low temperatures, saying that each home is provided with some heating equipment, no more customers are suffering from cold weather, and if this happens, how will the investment actually hurt? The main commercial operation, home heating oil, is the worst investment for customers. Can the customer withstand such a crisis if the situation does not meet expectations? If not, what can the customer do?

All in all, we should never overestimate the investment environment because everything will change.