The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented by the author is flawed due to numerous reasons. Primarily because the author only takes the survey, which may not be representative or true, into account. Thus, the fault survey renders the argument invalid.

Firstly, teachers may have provided wrong information to seem more successfull despite giving less homework. In many states the wage received by the teachers are concluded via the success of the students. Thus the teachers in Marlee may have presented unaccurate information to improve their wages.

Furthermore, it is not certain that the survey is representable of whole Sanlee or Marlene students. The author does not give enough information, thus we do not know if the highschools are randomly chosen or if they display similar characteristics such as the budget of the school or the teacher quality. Since the survey might be faulty or present innacurate findings and the author solely based his or her claims on the findings of the said study, it proves the argument of the author to be not logically sound.

Even if the survey presented is true and students may perform better with less homeworks due to claimed reasons, the success of the students should not be only measured through better grades or repetition of the school year. Having homework everyday may be tiring, but it may also build stamina for the general exams. Overall the students from district of Sanlee may be accepted more into undergraduate programs, even though they may seem less successfull on the survey. If the survey disclosed has also given statistics on the acceptance rates into universities, it would support the claim of the author further.

Moreover, the survey does not take the social class and disposible income of the students and their families. If the Marlee is a richer district, the students may have better teachers who are capable of teaching more material in less homework assignment. Furthermore due to the higher budgets of the students, private tutoring may be accessible to Marlene students but not Sanlee students. If the author would have stated that these highschool's students have a similar financial background, it would strenghten the claim of the author.

Conclusively, because the argument of the author is fully based on the survey which lacks important information to be shown truthfull, the author fails to make a convincing case.