"Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town. When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The manager of the Rialto Movie Theater asserts that Rialto Movie Theater should have the same features as Apex to control decreasing pool of moviegoers. Apex had video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Further, over eighty five percent of respondents are reluctant to see newly released movies more than five times per years because of high price. It seems very logical at first glance, but there are some unsubstantiated assumptions and evidences that does not take account the conclusion.

First and foremost, argument did not explicate the fact that what are the advantageous effects of physical location in Apex comparing to Rialto. Because the downtown location is the beneficial location for audiences to go more than outside of town, there should be valuable effects that people are more likely to go Apex. For example, there are free bus lane to go Apex Theatre; free transportation will be beneficial point that people become willing to go Apex.

Secondly, author did not mention that Rialto Movie Theater did not have video arcade, plush carpeting and seat and state-of-the-art sound system. Argument did not explain why this is very important. New item can be best solution to this situation, but in the way of exposition that Apex does not show about ‘new’. If argument shows that Apex has better and new cutting edges in theatre, then it will surely help the conclusion that Rialto should follow the Apex.

Thirdly, argument will be strengthened considerably by additional evidences that what kind of question was asked in survey. Opinions can be regarded from different jobs which can be varied from laborer, layers, professor, researcher, artists and so on. It means all people do not have same salary. Further, different ages have different value of vision. Youngster wants to watch action movie while elderly wants to watch history-based movies. Since there are different vision of watching, they would consider the price of ticket is expensive.

In closing, argument refers that Rialto Movie Theatre should follow Apex because of unproven evidences and assumptions, but if author add more evidence that is appropriate for the conclusion and fix assumption that follows the conclusion, then argument will be relevant as it sound.