Downtown Zurzi is becoming increasingly congested with traffic, increasing commuting time for those who work downtown or near downtown. The nearby city of Loft was faced with the same problem several years ago and implemented a small weekly tax for driving one’s car downtown. Downtown traffic almost immediately subsided in Loft and the local government also raised much-needed money for fixing roads elsewhere. Obviously, this plan should be implemented in Zurzi in order to solve the brewing traffic congestion problem.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt claims that, because the weekly tax on driving into downtown was effective in reducing the traffic problem in city of Loft, the city of Zurzi should impliment the same tax to reduce its traffic problem. However, the prompt's deicision is too hasty. What works for the city of Loft is not necassarily the best policy for the city of Zurzi. More research should be conducted and more evidcence need to be gathered to decide whether the driving tax is appropiate for city of Zurzi.

More information is needed to decide if a traffic tax will in fact reduce traffic problem in downtown Zurzi. It could be the case that city of Loft has a mature and extensive public transportation system. After the tax is imposed, it is easy for citizens to switch to using public transportation to go to downtown. If the city of Zurzi does not have such a robust system of public trasportation, even after the traffic tax is in place, citizens will be forced to still drive to downtown and pay the tax regargless. Thus it the tax will be ineffective and just an annoyance for the citizens.

The city of Zurzi should consider what the money from the traffic tax should be used. It could be the case that the city of Loft funneled the tax money it gathered into public project like building new highways, fixing exsiting roads, and expanding public tranportation. if the city of Zurzi have equally or better usage of the potential income from the traffic tax that will benefit the city and solve the traffic problem long term, it may be a good policy to gather traffic tax. For this case, the traffic tax can publicized as a short term measure to reduce traffic while the city works on long term solutions with the money obtained from the traffic tax. The prospect of a better Zurzi from the traffic tax would boost the popularity of the policy and make it more favorable to the citizens.

The prompt acts as if traffic tax is the only policy that could reduce traffic in downtown. Reasearch should be conducted to ascertain whether there are better alternative policies that suit the city of Zurzi more. For example, city of Zurzi could reduce the price of public transportation in the city to encourage people to use buses or subway. The city could build more protection for bikers in the city, making it safer for people to commute with bikes. The city could also impliment shuttle buses that transport people from commercial areas to residential areas, thus reduce the cars on the road. These alternative policies, if more favorable, would greatly reduce the desirableness of the traffic tax.

The prompt made a simple analogy and claimed that the city of Zurzi should impliment traffic tax just because the city Loft did so and was effective. However, it did not consider the differences between the cities that might make the policy more or less effective. Thus more evidence, like the intrasturcute and economic of the city and the availability of alternative policies, should be gathered before the city decides to impose the traffic tax.