Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The arguement above states that a particular kind of basket, previously thought to be made exclusively in Palea, is now found in Lithos, a town across the Brim River from Palea. Because the river Brim could only be traversed by boats and no boats were found, it is unlikely that the basket could have traveled there from Palea. Therefore, the people of Lithos must have made those baskets and the baskets are not exclusively from Palean. However, this arguement is lacking several critical foundations. More evidences should be gathered to determine if the result can be supported by the reasoning provided.

First of such evidences is regarding the lack of Palean boats found. Even though we have not found any boats around Palean, it is still possible that the ancient people of Palean possess the ability of make boats that could traverse the Brim river. In particular, because boats are usually kept around the river, the flow of a strong river could have flushed all remaining of boats from the ancient times downtream, removing all evidences of boat around Palean. If archeologists later found that there are boats downstream near the coast of the Brim river that bears the characistic of the village of Palean, it would be a strong evident detracting the arguement made in the prompt. The finding of the Palean basket could have been due to trade between the two villages, enabled by the ability to traverse the river.

Even if no Palean boat is found, trade between the village of Palean and Lithos could have still existed. Lithos villagers could have possessed boats that are able to across the Brim river and reach Palean. Even though a villager from Palean never landed food on the other side of the Brim river, the Palean basket could have been bought and brought home by Lithos merchants. If this is the case, and that boats are found near the site of Lithos (or downstream), the existence of the Palean basket near Lithos does not prove that the people of Lithos made them. There is sill possibility that the Palean basket is made exclusivly by the people of Palean. Therefore, the reasoning of the prompt is not sound.

The state of the Brim river at the time when villege of Palean exists should be studies as well. It is well-known that river changes rapily due to the topological changes of the surrounding landmass. At the time when Palean existed, the Brim river could be a lot shallower and narrower than it is now. Thus the people from Palean could have tranversed the river without a boat. This way, trade of the Palean basket could have happened even without the existence of Palean boat. Therefore, if geological evidences show that the Brim river was smaller during ancient time, the arguement above would lose significant validity.

In summation, even though the existence of a Palean basket in Lithos and the lack of Palean boat finding give possiblity that Palean baskets might not be exclusivly made by Palean people. The existent evidences is not enough to claim that that is neccesarily the case. In fact, evidences from other archeological finding like Palean boats in other areas or Lithos boats that cound traverse the river, and geological evidences that support the possibility that the Brim river was less torrent than it is now, could seriously cast doubts on the claim that Palean basket is not exclusvely Palean. More evidences should be gethered before a conclusive claim like the one made by the prompt can be reached.