Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The balance between nature preservation and economic development is one that is difficult to achieve. The prompt claims that a nation should make law that would protect the remaining wilderness even if these area could be useful for economic gains. This claim is too broad and the choice between protact the environment and aconomic development should be make depending on the inviduaul situation. A calculation of benefit and harm should be made to decide if each area should be preserved for wild life or used for industry or commercial activity. Morreover, other policies could be passed to protect the environment while not hurting economic development.

A law that protects wilderness above all else, especially economic gain, it too harsh for developing countries. It is natrual for a nation's economy to go through the trasition period where exploitation of natral resources is neccessary. A country, without enough capital to start, needs to sell it's land or resources beneath those wilderness land to obtain enough capital. After this initial period, the nation have the capital to educate it's citizens, develope it's infranstrucuter, and attract global investment to maintain a healthy economy without the exploitation of natrual resources. The nation could pass law to retore the wilderness it took away. It could even invest in the development of new renewable energy technology, reducing its dependence on natural resources. However, if a law that put nature above all else was implimented in a poor, developing counties, its economy might stagnate. The country would be stuck in the phase where to survive, the nation's population needs to constantly extract natrual resources and open new land. In the long term, this will harm the environment more.

The prompt ignores the global scale of environment protection. It is not enough for one country to deal with environment destruction, every nations needs to address this issue. Especially, poor countries should reach out for help from developed countries to make the transition to renewable energy and sustainable economy, reducing the needs to exploitation of large amount of natural resources. The developed countries should set set funding to help developing countries and share technologies for renewable energy. Passing law that prioritize the enviroment is good, but a global coordination is more effective.

The prompt acts as if a nation can only protact the environment at the cost of its economy. There are more ways where the wilderness of a nation could be preserved without interfering with economic development. For example, a nation could pass law that encourage recycling from its citizens. This law motivates its population to participate in protecting the environment. More importantly, a nation could pass law to regulate the wasts its industry could emit. In many cases, wilderness land is ruined not becasue the exploitation of the new land, but bacause of the contamited water or air polluting a wilderness area. If the law that protect the environment by restricing economic growth is the only law about envirnment protection, all other factor might be ignored and the evnvironment might not get better but worse.

In summation, a law that preserve the wilderness by stopping economic development is ill-advised. Rather, a nation should deliberate between the two options, the environment and its economy. At the same time, a nation should seek international help and pass other laws to protect the environment.