Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The prompt claims that governtments should focus on finding way to solve imminent problems rahter trying to mediate problems further in the future. It is true that problem closer to the present should be emphasized on. However, this principle should not be brought to the extreme. Patching present problems at the cost of the future is generally not a good idea. Moreover, considering how to solve future issues might give the government ideas on how to solve current issues while solving present, easier problems might give inspiration for solutions for future, harder problems.

Issues that are causing pressing problems to the community right now should be the priority of the government. For example, if the water source for a city is contaminated by local industry, the issue is urgent and dangerous. The city government needs to adress it immidietely. Cleaning up the water or providing citizens with alternative water sources should be on top of government's to-do list. These actions might drain the government funding for the future. It might raise problems for future planned project like the expansion of the local railway station. However, it is unwise for the local government to ignore the water contamination just because they want to reserve the money for future project. The immidiate problem would render the city empty in a short amount of time, leaving the railway expansion plan moot regardless. Thus, when the current problem is pressing and dangerous, all attention should be pointed towatds solving it.

However, current issue should not be solved with no regard to the future. Continouning our previous example, if the local government decided to solve the problem of water contamination by closing all local polluting industry. That might solve the problem at present, but it is not a long term solution. If the city is heavily reliant on these industries, it would actually create more problem in the future. Closing of large portion of local industry would hurt the local economy. Drastic actions against factories like these might discourage other companies to move in this city to open new factories. The easy and direct solutions for current problem will create devasting destruction to the city, maybe even render the city desolated. Therefore, it is apparent that treating current needs at the expense of the future should not be recommended.

The prompt acts as if governments needs to choose between solving current problem and considering future needs. Instead, doing both at the same time might be the most efficient. It might be the case that by coming up with solutions for current issues at hand, methods and ideas can be developed that might help to solve future problems. The government could be planning for future issues when it discoveres surprising ways to remidy current problems along with the future one. The solution of current and future problems does not have to be mutual exclusive. Therefore, no matter the government is considering current issues or planning for future needs, the other one should not be completely ignored but considered concurrently.

In summation, while it is intuitive for governments to focus on current problems. The solutions for them should not be harmful to the future. At the mean time, considering present and future issues all togehter might lead to the most optimized plan that solves both.