Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The above arguement claims that a government must funnel funds into large cities in it country to ensure that they are prosperous because that would be beneficial to the preservation of important national cultural tradisions. It is true that a government should ensure the development of its major cities, however, culture preservation should not be its major reason. There are better ways to protect a nations traditional cultures that does not involve investing in mega-cities.

Endangered cultural traditions usually exist in provincial regions. Because the limited population and poor ecomonic situation, the regional traditional cultures do not receive the attention and publication they need to survive the new generation. The exodus of young people from the countryside to major cities also derive traditional cultures precious human resources. On the other hand, cultural traditions that exist in major metropolitan areas usually is already popular and it well documented and publicized by their supporters. Citizens of major cities also is relative more well-off and can afford to spend their expendable income to support their favorate cultural products. Therefore, if the government really want to make an effort to preserve its most endangered cultural traditions, it should invest in developing rural areas and bring more exposure to unknwon traditional culture.

However, government should not ignore the development of major cities. Major cities are the major sources of income of a nation. Tax revenue from commerce and industry is usually higher than that from agriculture. A prosperous metropolitan area would generate the income the government needs to fund its many project, generating a gain for the government's investment. In particular, government could transfer its income from major cities to rural areas. And as I argued in the previous paragraph, development in rural areas is beneficial to the preservation of cultural traditions.

The prompt is right on claiming that major cities are where cultural traditions are preserved and generated. Therefore it might be beneficial that cultural traditions from the countryside to introduced to population in metropolitan areas. This will help endangered traditions to receive the appropiate amount of supporter it needs to survive. More money might be invested to the effort of promting and preserving of the cultural tradition. Moreover, clash of ideas from existing culture in the city and newly introduced cultural traditions give more chances of new cultures being produced. However, this does not simply traslate into more investment into major cities. On the contrary, governmental funds should be spent to find those endangered cultural traditions and set up institutions in major cities to publicize them. It is a collaborative effort by the rural and urban areas that is the more effactive in promting the preservation and generation of cultural traditions.

In summation, the logic that to best preserve and generate a nation's cultural traditions, major funding should be given to large cities for them to thirve is tenuous. Rather, appropriate funding should be given to both urban and rural areas. This way, the nation's ecomony would be healthy, endangered traditional cultures could receive the attention it needs, and new cultural traditions would be created.