Luck plays more of a role in determining success than work ethic does.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to both support and challenge your position.

The prompt claims that to success depends more on luck than on work ethics. I strongly disagree and think even though luck might be helpfulfor a success story, to actually obtain a significant achievement, one needs a good work ethics, like the virtue of persistence and good planning skills. Luck can only help but could not carry the whole process of making something great.

Persistence, compared to luck, is more essential to the process of making something significant. One example that shows the importance of persistence is the story of how Edison invented the lightbulb. While trying to find a material that would make enough light while not burn out right away, Edison could be considered extremely unlucky. He tried thousands and thousands of materials, while his funding and recources drains. But Edison did not give up and kept on with the research. His persistence finally paied off when he discovered the material that would light the 20th century, tonston. Luck was not by Edison's side when he was searching for materials for the lightbulb. It was his peersisten and unwillingness to give up that made him the man that we know today who invented the lightbulb.

Sometimes someone could be very lucky, but if he does not have a good work ethics like good managment skills, the he will have a low chance to be able to utilize the luck and be successful. There are ample stories of lottery winners that dissipated their wealth on induglances and alchol and gambeing in a few years and end up in a worse place that they begined with. With a big lottery prize money, those winners had more than enough funds to starts a sustainable and comfortable life. They could even invest the money into opening up a bussiness. But to retrain the desire to spend their sudden wealth and be responsible with the prize money requires then to have good work ehthics like appropriate planning of the future. Therefore, even if luck is on a person's side, to be succssful, he needs to have good work ethics.

One might say that in some cases, one will not be successful if not for luck. One such example is the story of the discovery of penicilin. Penicilin was discovered because a lab personel accidentally pbserved that a patch of mold was discouraging the growth of a colony of bactaria. After culturing a pure strand of that mold, the lab technichian discovered what we now call penicilin. It was used extensively to treat wide range of infection. Specifically, penicilin was used to treat the wounded during D-Day in 1944 when the ally forces storm the beach of Normandy. People might claim that the ally might suffer more casuaties if not for that lucky lab personel. However, less known is that fact that penicilin could not be used in large scale opertion like D-Day if not for the tireless and careful research by British and American scientists. They made it viable to mass produce penicilin and thus made it viable to use on many wounded soldiers. Therefore, evne though penicilin is discovered by chance, one of its most successful application would not happen if not for the work ethics of researhcers.

In summation, even though luck is helpful in achieving success, it is not more important than good working habbits. People with luck might fail because they don't have good work ethics and people lacking the fortune might be successful regardless. And even if luck plays a big role on some success stories, good work ethics is indispensible and more essential.