Dr. Karp mentions that the Child rearing in Tertian is done by the entire village...

In the article, Dr. Karp mentions that the Child rearing in Tertian is done by the entire village and not by their own biological parents. Moreover the children speaks about their own parents rather than the other adults in the village was observed by Dr. Karp in his research. This contradicts the conclusion of Dr. Field and proves that conclusion provided by him about Tertian Village is invalid. However, before Dr. Karp proves the research wrong it must be properly evaluated, where 2 questions must be answered.

Dr. Field as per his research states that the child rearing is done by the village people. Dr. Field does not states “why the child rearing is done by the village people”? When Dr. field visited the village, may be the people in the village consists of less adults and more senior citizens. In that case the children living in the village are been brought up the village people the senior citizens and the biological parents go to the work. It is assumed that may be the village consists of one ancient family and the people in the village in that case are all one whole family. In that case the child rearing can be done by the village as they are the part of the family and helping the family to grow together in an efficient manner. Further, in Dr. Karp’s interview it is observed that the children are speaking more about their biological parents than the adults in the village. This might be because being away from them due to the work make them miss them and so they are talking about them. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn by Dr. Karp is the article is significantly weaken.

Further, there is a possibility that the children don’t have the parents and are orphan or the whole village is an orphan village. In that case the biological parents cannot rear the child as they have either abandon the child or they are not alive anymore. Also this might be the only option to raise the children who have been left by their parents. However, in both Dr.Karp and Dr. Field case they have not mentioned why exactly the children are rear by the village people. If the above assumption is true then may be since the children didn’t get to be with their parents and don’t know what it feels to have parents makes them to talk about them. If above is true, then the argument does not hold the water.

In the conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions as the rearing done by the village people might not be good enough and so Dr. Karp got to see the different side of the story. However more evidences need to be provided.