The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Since the birthrate is declining the number of students will automatically decrease in next few years. The committee also states that reducing funds from specific funds can be used for the city facilities and programs. However, before the recommendation is properly evaluated, 3 questions must be answered.

The committee claims that the birthrate has decreased. The question arises what are the reasons behind it? It is assumed that may be the facilities provided in the city are not adequate. There is a possibility that citizens of city Calatrava do not earn enough to survive with the basic necessities and may be the government facilities are not reaching up to them. The budget plan provided for the city has reduction in education sector. Education is said to be the key to grow in every aspect, reducing the funds will take away the possibility of citizens situated in the city to grow. The committee should look in to the fact that what is the main reason behind the reduction and then the budget can be accordingly planned. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold the water.

The athletic playing fields are not much funded will it be appropriate to reduce the chances of the country to win? Since it is observed that there is a reduction in the birthrate the committee assumes that there will be less upcoming players who will be actually using the funds. It is presumed that, there might be the possibility that there is less awareness of sports and athletics in the city. Which, if it is at all done many children and adults might end up with getting into the athletics and sports. Future is unpredictable, and with that what if there is unpredictable rise in the birthrate gradually then the budget which has reduced the funds will be not be helpful for the citizens of the city. It will definitely give roots to multiple issues in the coming future for both government and the citizens. If either of these scenarios has merit, the conclusion drawn in the original argument is weaken.

In conclusion the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the committee is able to answer the questions above and offer more evidence then it will be possible to fully evaluate.