The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

As stated in the memo, on the job accidents are 30 percent more in Quiot manufacturing than in nearby Panoply Industries Plant, which has one hour shorter work shifts than Quiot Manufacturing. The Vice President assumes that shortening the work shifts will help to reduce the on the job accidents as the employees will get adequate amounts of sleep. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, two questions must be answered.

First of all, are the working hours main reason behind the on the job accidents? There might be several other reasons for the same which are not taken into consideration by the Vice President. The Panoply industries as mentioned has work shifts one hour shorter than Quiot Manufacturing, since it’s a manufacturing industry machinery and equipment plays crucial role in the same. It is possible that the equipments and machineries used by the Quoit Manufacturing are not that efficient or feasible to use. For example, if the machines are not given the required servicing and maintainance then there are high chances that accidents may occur due to the same and the employee cannot really help for this. If either of these scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weaken.

Second of all, what if employees are not well trained to use such heavy machineries? Because one should be properly skilled in order to work in the manufacturing industry with such advanced and life threatening machines. For example, there is a technical issue and the one who has been appointed to resolve the issue is not well trained then there are high chances of something going wrong with the wires, equipment used by the technician. If the above is true then the argument does not hold the water.

Vice president assumes improvement in the workshift leads to reduce the accidents; it may be partially true. The environment inside the manufacturing industry plays an important role in here. Proper break time to take rest from the shift, water-tea breaks to relax and some other facilities for the employees. Reduction in work shift is a good idea as employees will be all fresh and will work with great efficiency to provide optimum utilization of the resources. On the contrary, if the employee is not keeping well what are the services provided? Is he offered with paid leave or without paid leave? Because, it will bring him to work with not in state of rendering his services. And at this point of the the work shift which is reduced might not be helpful for him as he is not in the state of working in the first place.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of systematic research study) then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the memo.