The editor of a local newspaper sent the following memo to the managing editor of the paper:

“Three years ago when we surveyed our subscribers, they complained about the quality of the reporting and writing in the paper. Since that time, we have made a concerted effort to hire older, more experienced journalists. According to our most recent survey, these changes have made a vast improvement. Not only has our subscriber base grown by 13%, but they also rated us higher on both reporting and writing. Therefore, it is evident that to continue to increase our readership, we should hire the most experienced journalists we can find, and gradually fire our younger, less experienced reporters."

The editor of the local newspaper states that their newspaper states in his memo that their subscriber base grew by 13% after they hired more older and experienced journalists. The editor has come to this conslusion based on the two surveys that we conducted years apart. There could be many other reasons of the increase in the newspaper's subscriber base.

Firstly, let's consider the fact that the surveys were conducted 3 years apart. There could have been many changes that took place in the three years which could have led to the increase in the subscriber base. For example, since they are hiring only older and experienced people only, other newspapers did not have any proper experienced editors who could have published interesting and exiciting new. Which eventually led more people to buy their newspaper.

Secondly, hiring only older and experienced editors means that the younger editors did not have enough job opportunities in their company. So they would have joined a different newspaper company with less number of seniors of the field. So the learning for them will be low. Therefore, the output of the other newspapers would have reduced.

Thirdly, there is no insight given to us about the people, in the three years the population would have increased and also the number of newspaper readers also increased.

Furthermore, hiring only old and experienced people means paying them more money. Even though their subscriber base increased the money they spent also raised. Therefore, higher both older and younger people, could lead to a reduce in money and also lead to a good future because the younger editor would be trained by the experienced editors. This would also benifit their future.

Finally, based on the above examples we can come to a conclusion that hiring of older and experienced people is not the only reason for the increase in the subscribers. Therefore, we can say hiring younger editors does not affect the subscriber rate, but it will eventually increase with the experience they gain.