The editor of a local newspaper sent the following memo to the managing editor of the paper:

“Three years ago when we surveyed our subscribers, they complained about the quality of the reporting and writing in the paper. Since that time, we have made a concerted effort to hire older, more experienced journalists. According to our most recent survey, these changes have made a vast improvement. Not only has our subscriber base grown by 13%, but they also rated us higher on both reporting and writing. Therefore, it is evident that to continue to increase our readership, we should hire the most experienced journalists we can find, and gradually fire our younger, less experienced reporters."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It is certainly understandable that the editor would evaluate this trend and conclude that since survey results and the subscriber base improved once older and more experienced journalists were hired, the newspaper's hiring strategy should be altered. However, the logic presented in the memo is flawed and more questions need to be answered before this conclusion can be confirmed.

The first assumption that the editor makes is that correlation implies causation. There are no other external factors that could explain this positive subscriber growth. However, anyone who has taken an introductory statistics class knows that correlation most definitely does not imply causation. Hence, the first question that needs to be answered to support the recommendation presented is "Are there any other factors that could have explained this subscriber growth?" One possible explanation that immediately comes to mind is a major event such as an election increasing interest in current events. Just look at this most recent United States presidential elections. Millions of people suddenly became interested in politics, watched extremely boring debates, and waited in line for hours to cast their votes. A local election is certainly not as headline grabbing as controversial presidential election featuring Donald Trump, but local elections can have a significant impact on the day to day lives of people. It should not be a surprise then that at least 13% more people would start investing in their local newspaper to follow the election.

Another assumption that the editor makes is that survey results are reliable. A few questions must be addressed regarding the subscriber surveys referenced in the memo. What is the survey's sample size? Was this sample representative of the entire population or clearly biased towards one demographic or age group? How were the questions presented? Those three questions are crucial to understand before any rigorous data analysis can commence. Many people tend to ignore surveys or prefer to only disclose their opinions when they are dissatisfied, potentially explaining the negative survey results from three years before the memo was written. People who work long hours may also not have time to respond to survey questions, which would again limit the sample size and result in a biased sample of unemployed or retired customers. Or perhaps the younger reporters were liberal politically and the subscribers who responded to the survey were more conservative and appreciated the articles of the older reporters, who at least on average tend to more conservative or less liberal. The survey may have a large and unbiased sample, but a statistically significant conclusion cannot be drawn until these questions are answered.

Before the editor makes any further personnel decisions, the questions about correlation versus causation and the validity of the survey results need to be evaluated. It is important to remember that firing anyone could destroy their livelihood, so these drastic decisions should not be justified with lazy and superficial analysis.