The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. Therefore, I recommend that we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program of our own. If we do so, I predict that our profits will also see a significant increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It is understandable as to why the marketing director believes that instituting a free 'Shakespeare in the Park' program will result in a significant increase in profits. From personal experience, Shakespeare in the Park consistently draws large crowds, whether in Central Park or in a small New Hampshire resort town. The marketing director even mentions that a nearby theatre town experienced financial growth after the initiation of its own 'Shakespeare in the Park' program. While it is certainly tempting to predict similar success for the Bardville Theatre, a couple of pertinent questions need to be answered before implementing this recommendation.

The first question that needs to be answered is "Why did increased advertising fail to attract more people to the shows?". The reasonable assumption when investing in advertising is that it will lead to an expanded audience. The advertising could be targeted to the wrong demographics or not conveying a clear message. If this true, a marketing strategy shift could be sufficient to increase profits. For example, perhaps younger citizens are more receptive to ads, so the focus should shift to buying spots on social media or streaming services. If the ad is poorly designed, then the creative team should develop different ads suited to its primary target audience. On the other hand, the best marketing strategy in the world may fail to overcome systemic problems such as plays that are not entertaining or actors who should be replaced. If the latter possibility is true, an overhaul of the theatre company's personnel may be necessary.

A second germane question for this analysis is "Is it fair to conclude that Avon Repertory's apparent success with 'Shakespeare in the Park' implies that a comparable program will be effective for Bardville?". The two assumptions in this case are that 'Shakespeare in the Park' directly caused Avon's profits to increase and Bardville's 'Shakespeare in the Park' program will be just as effective as Avon's because the companies are in geographically close. Regarding the first assumption, when conducting any sort of analysis, it is crucial to remember that correlation does not imply causation. Avon's profits may have increased because for alternative reasons, such as hiring better actors, writers, and directors. However, even if 'Shakespeare in the Park' is solely responsible for the higher profit margin, there is no guarantee Bardville will experience the same outcome because it is geographically close to Avon. As a real-life example, the Upper East Side and East Harlem are adjacent neighborhoods in New York City. Yet, they could not be more different in terms of culture, income, and demographics. A new theatre neighborhood program could be extremely lucrative in the Upper East because its residents love theatre, but Harlem residents may have limited interest in the program. The marketing director must evaluate if an Upper East Side and Harlem dynamic is in play with Avon and Bardville.

'Shakespeare in the Park' may very well be a resounding success, but questions must be addressed before implementing this program.