Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Quality higher education is crucial for any society to thrive, and many professions, such as doctor, lawyer, and teacher even require graduate degrees. The United States is fortunate to have excellent colleges and universities from coast to coast. However, tuition continues to rise significantly, which prevented students from enrolling or left them saddled with debt upon graduating. Unfortunately, minority students seem to be most affected by this trend. The statement proposes a policy that was debated during this most recent election season and is prevalent in Europe. All students should have access to higher education (if desired) but all students should not be offered college and university education free of charge.

The government offering college and university education free of charge to all students would likely help to ensure that all students have equal opportunities to pursue higher education. However, it would not be fiscally responsible of the government to do so. First, not all students need have to their education funded by the government. The most economically efficient policy would have all families pay as much as tuition as they can afford. For example, two parents with a net worth in the seven figures and only one child, can certainly afford to comfortably pay the tuition for any school their child decides to attend. If the government paid for that child’s tuition, the tax burden would be shifted to families who are less well-off. In addition, the tuition paid by wealthier families can help pay the tuition for families who desperately the financial assistance.

Furthermore, the best schools in this country, such as Harvard and Columbia, have invested heavily in resources to enhance the learning of their students. The ability to invest in these resources would be less feasible if tuition were free. Not to mention the ability to fund student housing upgrades, offer competitive salaries to the best professors, and other enriching student programs such as Study Abroad. For example, I attended McGill University in Montreal, which is a highly regarded university that offers cheap tuition Canadian citizens. The university therefore relies heavily on government funding, which was in short supply due to an economic recession during my four years. As a result, the university started to fall in the rankings due to not being able to keep pace with the wealthier American universities when it came to investing in the resources mentioned above.

While it is an honorable goal to provide all students the chance to attend college or university for free, it is nonetheless important to consider the ability for students to finance their education on a case-by-case basis. Just like businesses, the growth of schools correlates strongly with funding.