The true test of the greatness of a work of art is its ability to be understood by the masses.

A work of art being understood by the masses certainly is a huge factor in sustaining the career of an artist. Think of any piece of art, whether it be a painting, a song, or a movie. If the masses understand and appreciate the work, the more likely they are willing to pay for the art. Nonetheless, the ability for a work of art to be understood by the masses is not necessarily the true test of its greatness.

I currently live in New York City, a place with a myriad of incredible art museums, most notably The MET. Tourists from all over the world will stand in line for sometimes hours to pay an expensive entrance fee to explore the world class art in this museum. The exhibits feature works of art spanning several centuries and range from sculpture to paintings to modern art. Wealthy New Yorkers will also donate thousands of dollars to keep this museum in operation and continue to provide the public the opportunity to appreciate the greatness stored in this building. Very few people, if any, would question this greatness either. But what about the young artists throughout the city that have yet to be discovered? They may very well have crafted pieces that belong in The MET but have yet to be discovered or overlooked to date. Therefore, it appears that sometimes for your art to be considered great, the artist must develop his reputation and resume first. In other words, the public is more likely to perceive one's art to be great, if the artist is perceived to be great. Perception is reality.

A second case where the understanding of the masses is not a prerequisite for greatness is where the demand or interest for the art is limited by the market. An example of this case is country music. Travel to Nashville and you will see country artists such as Carrie Underwood, Blake Shelton, and Keith Urban displayed on billboards whereas in New York, they rarely even come to Madison Square Garden. New York is certainly a much more populated city than Nashville, so does that mean a Blake Shelton hit song is only great in Nashville. Likewise, is an opera song performed at Lincoln Center in New York only great there. The Blake Shelton song may very well be more skillfully produced with more creative lyrics and melodies than the opera song, but since country music is a niche market mainly limited to Nashville and the southern US, the opera song may end up being liked by a larger audience.

Great work is often successful at the box office, on the billboard charts, or stored in famous museums. But greatness is certainly not limited to that success.