A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how those examples shape your position.

It is well established that quality public education is absolutely essential for a nation to thrive. But there is much debate, including in the United States, as to how uniform curriculums should be across the country. Using the United States as an example, is it logical for the federal government to mandate that a student in New York City be subject to the same curriculum as a student in Arkansas? There is certainly a cogent case. Teachers are currently only allowed to work at schools in state in which they are licensed, but this policy would render that license restriction obsolete. College admissions officers would face less of an uphill battle attempting to compare GPAs across vastly different schools. Less of a disparity between students would exist as they enter college. Despite all of these reasons, a nation should not require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A circumstance for which a nationalized curriculum would not be advantageous is special education students and gifted students. It is advantageous for the learning standards and process of special education students to be adjusted to account for both how and the pace at which they learn. For example, a dyslexic child inherently cannot read as quickly as an average student. Especially early on in a dyslexic child's education, both the teacher and the student need to create and finetune the best possible strategies to aid in the student's reading development. Rushing this development to keep pace with a national curriculum could harm the student's confidence and inhibit his or her long-term growth as a reader. In contrast, a student identified as gifted needs to be challenged and be provided the opportunity to attempt to learn concepts ahead of his grade level. Frustrated students have been known to act out and disrupt the class if they breeze through every lesson. The flexibility to cater a curriculum to the cognitive levels of the students is a significant benefit that a national curriculum does not offer.

A second case that should prevent the installment of a national curriculum is private school education. Parents who can afford to so should be allowed to send their child to a school that matches their values or is known to prepare students well for college. A religious family may desire a faith-based curriculum for their students and forcing these students to attend a public school effectively infringes on their religious liberties. In addition, my sister and I attended Phillips Andover Academy, arguably the most demanding and highly regarded private high school in the United States. Alumni from this high school learn from teachers with minimal curriculum restrictions. A primary example is the lack of Advanced Placement courses. I was enrolled in one AP class during my high school career yet earned a 4.0 GPA during my freshmen year of college at an Ivy League caliber university. Phillips Andover comprehends that students learn differently, and each teacher possesses a unique skill set.

The most glaring drawback of a national curriculum is the inability to handle students at different levels and potentially infringes on the values of students and their families. If the best high school in the country does things differently, why not follow suit?