The true test of the greatness of a work of art is its ability to be understood by the masses.

The statement asserts that the greatness of a work of art is based on the ability to be understood by the masses. But the statement is not always true. There are many instances where the art is not understood by many but lauded by the critics for its creativity.

Firstly, there are many pieces of art that are critically acclaimed all around the world but different people have different interpretations about the art. For example, lets take the paintings and art work of Picasso, who was a great artist, most of his work is eccentric and enigmatic because of his creativity. Still people consider his artwork with high regard. Even nowadays, when people see a great painting they call it a Picasso. So the understandability of the artwork does not represent its greatness.

Secondly, when we consider music, they are multifarious ranging from rock to hip-hop and they are present in many different languages. There are many instances where people liked the song even though they did not understand the language. For instance, in the recent years, a Spanish song named 'Despacito' became very famous all around the world and most people who did not understand the song also liked it.

Furthermore, there are many more artforms where the understandability plays a major role. Lets take the early 19th century plays where most people disliked them. For example, Shakespeare's plays were disliked by many because they were long and boring. But these plays were appreciated by the critics. Even today those plays are treated with great respect.

Finally, we can come to a conclusion from the above examples that the statement given above is not always true and the ability of understanding plays a minor role describe the greatness of the artwork.