In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would.

The author of the reading passage insists that Climpson company should implement electronic monitoring system to improve their employees’ productivity. The author states that they can foster a better work ethic and improve overall profits by installing software on company computers to identify and punish personal, recreational activities. This argument is flawed and fragile as it stands. The author should suggest more evidence to support the claim.

To begin with, the author has to suggest whether the company has to deal with personal or recreational activities of employees as a problem. It is plausible that the internet usage for private purpose take a negligible amount of time. Or perhaps, whether there are significant internet usages in this purpose, it might not lead to decline work productivity. They might do shopping and play games only using their lunchtime. In this regard, the author should suggest how serious the problem is and what is the estimated total hours due to the private internet usages.

Moreover, the author fails to consider the possible side-effects from the policy. I would like to mention two most probable consequences. Firstly, it is possible that employees get angry due to the change. They might feel uncomfortable and regard the new policy as inappropriate one because of the invasion of privacy. Secondly, it is also plausible that an operation cost of the new system is bigger than the improve profits by prohibiting personal time. If the fee to purchase the software and maintain costs are bigger than expected, the company will end up paying more money instead of increasing their overall profits. Therefore, to strengthen the argument, the author should vindicate how the mentioned possible consequences would not be a problem.

Building upon the assumption that there is no negative side of the policy, the author also unfairly concludes that the monitoring system is the best idea. On the contrary, the author should consider and eliminate all possible alternative solutions. For instance, company can educate employees not to use working hours for own recreational purpose and bolster their work ethics. Or, they can plan campaign about the problem so that employees can voluntarily change their behavior. Thus, the author should suggest the apt reasons and supporting evidence for the argument that the monitoring system is the best idea.

In a nutshell, the contention relies on several unwarranted assumptions thus is problematic. To bolster the argument, the author should suggest the aforementioned evidence. Only by giving more evidence, the author could convince us.