Essay topics:

The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The argument states that the only solution to the several accidents recorded at centerville in the past two years is to establish an effective and mandatory program sponsored by high school. This argument conclusion would only be valid if it premises were true. However, the write does not give enough convincing reasons that logically make his reasons valid.

First, the write assumes that one of the solution to the accident of teenager driver is for high schools to make driver's education course necessary. Has the author try to evaluate the cost of making such course practically feasible? Will high schools be able to provide enough practicing kits to train this young lads? will it just be a theoretical class? if the author cannot answer this question then introducing an educational driving course will no way alleviate the issue of teenage drivers accident at centerville.

The author may be right about the current increase in the number of teenagers accident, but has any survey been done to confirm that truly this accidents are as result of teenagers not being trained? out of the teenager drivers that trained at the two driving schools in Centerville, has any of them being recorded with accident in recent years? if yes, then training might not necessary be the solution to the current increase in teenage accidents. It may have been as a result of reckless driving or the teenager not being conscious with his or her environments. The author's conclusion will therefore hold no water if this happens.

The author would have been logically strengthened if he had given enough statistical breakdowns of how many teenagers enrolled in the two driving school have been involved in accidents, and the reason for their accident to know the root cause of it. Moreover, the result of teenager accident may have been a result of over-speeding as teenagers are well used to motor racing and gaming.

conclusively, the author's argument of an effective and mandatory program sponsoring of a driving school at high school may not seem necessarily valid if it cannot answer questions thrown at it as regards the root cause of main accident in centerville, as the program would just be a total waste of resources.