Essay topics: The following editorial appeared in the Broomall County Times-Picayune:

"The Gordon Act, which established a wildlife refuge in the Big Dark Swamp, is currently up for reauthorization. The act prohibits the building of roads or cutting of old growth trees in the swamp, though it permits hunting. Many blamed logging activities for the decline of the bird population, especially that of the dappled grackle. The grackle population has continued to decline since the passage of the law, demonstrating that the Gordon Act has not been sufficient to protect the species. Another nearby refuge, the Wayne County Marsh Habitat, bans all mining, logging, and hunting. Wayne County officials have not reported a decline in the grackle population there. This proves that hunting, not logging, was responsible for the population drop in Broomall County. Thus, Broomall County should not reauthorize the Gordon Act unless it is amended to include the same provisions as those in Wayne County."

The editorial draws an analogy between the Big Dark Swamp and the Wayne County Marsh Habitat, stating that if the Gordon act was amended to include all the provisions that were made by Wayne county, the population of birds would not see a decline. This is inherently based on some assumptions on the nature of both camps being compared as well as the reasons for the dip in the population of indigenous birds, especially the dappled grackle.

The editorial assumes that both The Dark Swamp and The Wayne County marsh Habitat have similar ecological conditions and the species of bird population. This is because the article directly mentions that if the laws that are enforced on the latter are enacted or included in the Gordon act to monitor the former, then there would be similar results i.e. stability in the population of dappled grackle.

But the editorial does not give any tangible evidence as to how both the ecological habitats are similar. What if both the swamps have different composition of local bird species ? Are there any facts to state that the population of birds, especially the dappled grackle is comparable in both the swamps ?. If there are evidences that confirm the dissimilarities between the habitats, in terms of their geography, demographic compositions, the political premise for enacting the laws, then the analogy on which the assumption is based falls flat and it is possible to entirely refute the conclusion formed in the argument.

The editorial also claims that hunting and not logging, is the main culprit behind the waning population of the birds in the Big Dark Swamp. This stated assumption is again based on the assumption that both the habitats are similar and that hunting is the only explanation for the decreasing population of bird species. But the argument does not take the prohibition on mining into account. If new evidences emerge stating that mining and other activities do affect the decline in population of dappled grackles, the premise on which the argument claims hunting as the main cause for the decline becomes shaky and unproven. Also, the argument outright ignores that cutting of old trees and construction activities like building of roads may have had a significant impact on the population of dappled grackle as it states that they have been ineffective in curbing the declining trend. But there is no fact given to substantiate the claims.

Beside above assumptions, a few factual information regarding the effectiveness of the laws and the similarity between both habitats might help to prove how warranted the assumptions stated in the argument can be.