The following editorial appeared in the Broomall County Times-Picayune:"The Gordon Act, which established a wildlife refuge in the Big Dark Swamp, is currently up for reauthorization. The act prohibits the building of roads or cutting of old growth trees

Gordan Act re-authorization, needs to be temporarily suspended until there are valid evidences to vindicate it from the accusation of the decline of dappled grackle population. Logging was given as the sole reason for the reduction of bird population in Big Dark Swamp. No other proper evidences are provided to prove this statement.

Firstly, to consider, though logging was allowed in Big Dark Swamp, cutting of old growth trees was prohibited. The birds generally build their habitats or nests on trees of larger heights so that they will be far from their preys on the ground. If this fact is to be considered, old grown trees are of larger heights than the trees which are cut down. So these birds primarily rest on the old grown trees than the trees that are cut down. It thereby proves that logging was not a proper reason for the diminishing population of birds.

Secondly, given that dappled grackle population has continued to decline since the passage of the law. This need not imply that the law was the reason for the reduction of the population because, there was no decrease in the population of other birds. The reason for the decline may be the birds flying out to different places during that season, the changed climatic conditions etc.

Finally, comparing the situations in Wayne County Marsh with that of the Big Dark Swamp may not be an optimal way. The climatic conditions of the place, the previous population of dappled grackle, other wildlife in that place also needs to be considered. There may be more compelling climatic conditions for dappled grackle in Wayne County Marsh than that of Big Dark Swamp this may be notable reason for the constant population of dappled grackle there.

Considering few of the factors mentioned above, we can clearly vindicate Gordan Act from the accusations of the declining populations of dappled grackle.But also as a coin has both sides, there may also be certain mistakes in properly executing this act which may at times affect the population. So the authorities need to take care to properly execute this act and thereby preserve the population of dappled grackle and other birds in Big Dark Swamp.