The regional brand manager sent the following memo to the national brand manager for Sun-Beam Facial Cleanser.

“We need to institute a huge publicity campaign for the launch of Sun-Beem’s improved formula. Without an enormous media blitz, including television, radio, internet, and magazine ads, potential new customers will not be aware of our product. And previous customers will not be aware that Sun-Beam’s new, non-carcinogenic formula is on the shelves. The best way to combat the negative publicity Sun-Beam’s old formula received is to fight fire with fire, by using the media’s insatiable interest in any new news about Sun-Beam to sell the new formula. This will erase the negative connotations in the minds of former customers, and will ensure that Sun-Beam is once again the best-selling facial cleanser on the market.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

According to the argument, the erstwhile top facial cleanser Sun-Beam has lost its number one position in the market thanks to the negative publicity given by the media on its old product. The regional manager in his argument appeals to the national head, to fight 'fire by fire'. The argument traces a plan that has been envisaged to help the product regain its formal glory. But to conclusively believe that the plan actually comes to fruition, a number of specific evidences are needed to back up the assumptions on which the plan is sketched out.

In the argument, regional manager assumes that the negative publicity attributed to the old formula lead to its downfall. There is no evidence to back up this claim. Furthermore, he claims that huge publicity to the new formula may once again evince customer's interest in the product. Was the negative word of mouth entirely due to the media's publicity ? There may be other factors which could have spread the negatives that existed with the old formula. There is also an emphasis faced on the new formula being 'non-carcinogenic'. Was the old formula carcinogenic ? If so , it would be a much more decisive factor of the declining popularity of Sun-Beam's old formula and would undermine the argument that media publicity was the reason being negative reviews for the old product.

Backing the above assumption, any idea that involves fighting fire by fire i.e. employing media publicity to improve company's brand image is bound to fail as the crux of the issue would be misunderstood and misinterpreted. Also, more quantifiable evidence of the product's popularity before and post media publicity might shed some light on how to approach the problem with media publicity as the main tool to achieve company goals. If the figures on the effectiveness of media publicity compared to actual profits gained in terms of customers actually proportional, the campaign addressed in the argument can be taken forward in full throttle based on historical evidences. If not, the regional head's assumptions will be undone and the campaign can end up becoming disastrous.

Despite the above arguments and assumptions, the argument is visibly interested in retaining old customers along with a keen eye for potential customers. This is based on the assumption that the existing and former customers use publicity in television,internet and magazine ads are the primary factors to consider while choosing a facial cleanser. This assumption, without any numbers or figures to back the claim can be ambiguous in its results. Specific trends of the intended customer base with respect to their choice while choosing a beauty product needs to be taken into account.

If the trends reveal that majority of customers rely on their previous experiences with the product rather than the media publicity, the strategy implied to work in the argument will backfire. On the other end, if the customers are found to actually be influenced by the media blitz, the plan just might work. In its entirety, more historical data on the customer behavior and the reasons for the flak on their older product can shed light on the effectiveness of the mentioned strategy.