“Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.”

There is no doubt in the fact that men and women have different physical constitution and vary diversely in their abilities. This truth can even be generalized to wider classification of animal species as male and female bodies have evolved to best adapt to their living conditions and the role their sex played in the society. But this distinction is getting increasingly blurred as time has progressed. Now it is not impossible to find men and women taking up tasks in almost all spheres of life. To an extent, the argument that men and women are suited to different tasks owing to their physical differences cannot be applied to present scenario without a proper debate and discussion.

Yes. There is no denial in accepting that certain tasks require specific physical traits that fundamentally differences between men and women. Consider the unorganized labor force in India. Every railway station is dotted with men in red shirts eyeing hopefully towards any approaching passenger, eager to pick his luggage up and carry it over to the other part of the station. These 'coolies' are always men and there is very little share of women working as coolies. This is because although tough and physically strong, body of a woman is not as hardened as that of men to take up long hours of physical activities such as lifting and carrying heavy load. This problem escalates if a woman is in her menstrual periods.

However, we always tend to believe that physical differences in a man and a woman's body makes the latter weaker and incapable of doing arduous and laborious tasks. This is a clear fallacy. Do we acknowledge the fact that a woman's body takes tremendous amount of pain during labor and that the physical demands of childbirth are beyond our imagination ? It is said that one labor for a woman is almost as painful as having about forty bones crushed at the same time. To overcome this pain and still be able to birth a new life requires incredible physical strength. Thus is it logical to believe women simply can't do many tasks that men excel in just because men are stronger ? I would like to disagree.

History has played an important role in people arriving at a conclusion to relate succinct physical differences in the bodies of both the sex to their suitability to perform tasks. Naturally, the social and cultural norms of the olden days restricted the choice of jobs women had. While men took to fields and engaged in more physically demanding jobs, women had to take care of the family within the confines of household and thus over the period of time became less physically able to carry out tasks that men did. This can in fact be true for the reverse as well. Men simply lacked the ability to do household chores as these tasks required them to not just put their brawn to work but also do it in a way that did not strain them quickly.

But the scenario is changing now. We have started to see woman in armies, holding guns and fiercely marching forward in regiments. We have women like Serena Williams, who is physically stronger than many male tennis players. And on the other side, we have men taking up tasks that were considered womanly. Many top chefs in five start restaurants are men. These changing patterns imply that physical differences that exist within our bodies are not the definitive factors to tell what tasks we are most suited to do and what we are incapable of doing.