The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Since ages, teaching has been revered as a profession or a responsibility that is pious and very substantial for a society’s empowerment and growth. Thus most of the theories and practices concerning the teaching methods are often viewed critically and are agreed upon only if tends to produce positive results. The issue in question here cannot be rejected outright. Yes, praising a student for his positive actions imminently leads to his morale and confidence getting a good boost. This will further enable him to perform better or be more inclined to do things that are positive by nature. But the downside of the argument is that while it gives a good boost to the positive side, it completely ignores the other end of the spectrum. This deliberate ignorance could be harmful.

For example, for a student in his late teens undertaking a higher graduate course, focusing on his positive actions or areas is very helpful. At that period of his education, he is expected to hone his natural skills and advance in a direction that he can excel. Thus praising him for his positive results on a subject topic is of great importance. But for a young boy heading to an elementary school, it is more important for a teacher to build in him a well-balanced, all-rounded personality that is not streamlined on a fixed path but projects outwards in all directions.

This can only be achieved if he is taught to not only improve his positives but also overcome negatives that are present in his nature. What would happen to a genius mind if he is praised with accolades and applause so much so that his extremely rude and insensitive attitude is conveniently ignored? That kid might remain unexplored and unpopular because his tantrums overshadow his genius. Thus it is very important for a teacher to praise one’s positive actions but also censure and contain his or her negative actions and actively work towards eventually excising that negativity from his or her personality.

One who teaches someone something is not only acting as an aid to that someone’s strengths but also as a reminder and a critic for the negative aspects of the person. Thus completely ignoring one’s negative actions and purely being fixated on praising the positives shall adversely lead to the diminishing of the positives also. Because a teacher’s role in a student’s life is as important as a parent’s role is.