The way a message is delivered is often more important than the message itself.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We often stumble upon incidents in our daily life which requires us to deliver a particular message of some importance to someone or just transfer the message along its course. The intent, reach and importance of these messages greatly vary. Many a times these messages can also get altered enroute and take an entirely different form. Thus I believe it is more important to place a greater emphasis on the way a message is delivered, which can at times be more important than the message itself.

Consider the wise old teaching of great luminaries like Buddha, Gandhi and Martin Luther King. There is not an ounce of doubt that their messages were extremely important to society's wellbeing. But the means by which these leaders conveyed their messages made them much more impactful and this in turn had profound effects on future generations. Simple, obvious messages like conveying your gratitude to someone who had helped you previously may become awkward and sometimes end up infuriating them if that message is not conveyed in a benign and genuine manner.

There is also the matter of interpretation of a message that travels long distances often involving more than two people. Chinese whispers is a fun game that is played in most of the group events where participants are made to stand in a line and a secret message is passed on from one person to another by whispering into their ears. The criteria to win is that the message received by the last person needs to be the same as the original message. Most of the people fail to win this game as a message is hardly conveyed across the group in its original form. This is because delivery of a message is dependent on many factors. This is more evident in a government order or a writ which on its way down through the bureaucracy get misinterpreted and end up with a major portion of the message being a faux i.e. a false information.

But this does not mean that the message is trivial. Regardless of the way it is conveyed or disseminated, a message is always the crux of an exchange of information. From day to day incidents like a mother educating her child to an influential situation like bilateral talks between two government emissaries, the message that is to be conveyed holds much significance. One may ask, What is the use of delivering a message properly if the message itself has no much relevance ? Yes . A message needs to be relevant enough and must be given due importance.

But a message , however important and relevant may lose its relevance and actual purpose if not delivered in a way it should be. Instead of a mother educating her child about harmful fast-food, what if she reprimands the latter for consuming it ? It does not have the same impact and can even go against the mother's good intentions. Thus importance on the way a message is delivered becomes comparatively greater than the message itself.