The way a message is delivered is often more important than the message itself.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It can be debated whether the way a message is delivered is more important than the message itself. However, history is a testament to the fact that many times, the tone, delivery and context of the message carries a lot of weight and can swivel the audience’s reception. A cleverly orated speech can ease tensions between opposing factions; a passionate speech can make the people of a nation take up arms; whereas a poorly timed announcement can leave the speaker unconvincing and an embarrassment.

A rousing and powerful speech can make awaken the hopes and dreams of a nation. Such an example is the speech given by the first Prime minister of India, Pandit J. Nehru, on the eve of India’s freedom. India had just obtained her freedom from the centuries old grip of Britain. Being a new democracy with non-existent economy and infrastructure, India had a steep uphill task ahead of herself. But it was the masterful delivery and wording of Nehru’s speech which gave hope to the millions of Indians that night. It set the outlook of the country for the next couple of years.

Where one message can arouse a nation, another can calm a nation teeming with conflicts. South Africa was a boiling pot of differing opinions and ideas when it became independent. The indigenous and the immigrated Europeans were at odds and did not trust each other. Decades of apartheid rule had left the natives sour and angry. A benevolent leader like Nelson Mandela was needed to defuse the situation. It is well known that the Madiba took great care to treat both sides equally, despite himself being imprisoned by the former rulers. His messages were pacifistic and it held great importance, coming from a man who had himself suffered and learnt to forgive his former enemies. Had it been someone less convincing and emphatic, the people of South Africa would still not be able to see eye-to-eye.

Indeed, it can be argued that no skilful delivery can save a speech which was poorly written. However, the method of presentation can enhance or even change the meaning behind a message. A recent event that happened in Hong Kong is one such example. The Prime minister of Hong Kong finally relented to the mass protests staged by the people and rescinded the ‘Extradiction Bill’. Despite the government accepted the public’s opinion, they took too long and did not give a satisfying response. Hence, now the government is seen as unconvincing and the public do not feel there is much conviction in their actions.

In conclusion, a message can rise or sink depending on its delivery and context. A great message is a pre-requisite but the manner in which it is presented can modify or change its meaning and significance.