The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement above and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how those considerations shape your position.

It is not possible to quantitatively measure an idea, and hence we cannot simply conclude weather an idea is the 'best'. Despite the complexity of the problem, one can use a superficial indicator as a measuring tape, such as the number of people who were benefitted from the idea. It is undeniable that ideas can spring from any source of inspiration, they can be the mundane or the extraordinary. However, history has shown time and again that ideas that revolutionised human lifestyle more often arose from the observations of commonplace things rather than the fantastical. Food is such an example, which is commonplace and has seen a quantum leap improvement in quantity and quality. The passionate research done by genetic engineers in the common grain now fills the stomach of more than half the globe.

Polio is a disease which was rampant only two generations ago, but has now been curbed by the polio vaccine. In those days polio was commomplace and an accepted fate amongst those afflicted by it. Had it not been for Jonas Salk's interest in this omnipresent malady, the polio vaccine would have never come into existence. Technology and science constantly improves the quality of living, and this leads the people to forget about the problems of the old which plagued almost everyone. Hence, our current generation does not know about several of the daily problems that our grandparents faced because they were resolved by the research and efforts of people who were passionate about it.

Another such an example is the modern motor vehicle. Henry Ford brought about a radical change in transportation with his first car model. At a time when all transportation were either horse or mule driven, the Ford model gave the people an alternative. Horse-driven carts were the norm and only someone interested in the workings of something quotdian would even think of inventing a new vehicle.

It is true that not all ideas which are deemed 'great' are necessarily intertwined with common life. The formulation of general relativity by Einstein is one such example. It is undeniably a major progress in theoretical physics, which has continued to baffle physicists. Nonetheless, if we measure its importance in terms of number of people affected, then it would not rank very high. This is not surprising, since esoteric ideas tend to be appreciated only by the few people who understand it. Therefore, by this measure inventions or advances which improve the common lifestyle are more well received.

In conclusion, great ideas tend to arise from the passionate research and study of the common things, since they affect more number of people.