Several factors indicate that KNOW radio can no longer succeed as a rock-and-roll music station. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of rock-and-roll music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. We predict that switching KNOW radio from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will allow the station to attract older listeners and make KNOW radio more profitable than ever.

The author of the memo uses unsubstantiated reasons and claims that changing the genre of the radio station will be beneficial. The reasons cited do not have supportive facts and data, instead they are based on speculative observations. The claim that changing the KNOW radio station from a rock-and-roll to a 24-hour news station, will attract listeners and be profitable is unconvincing and full of holes. Better demographic surveys need to be done in order to truly assess the situation.

The author mentions three factors, which he claims indicate that KNOW radio is failing. First, he cla...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.