A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Different countries can have differing opinions about a national school curriculum. Despite the objections that some may point out, it can be safely assumed that the advantages of having a national curriculum far outweigh the cons. A national curriculum will benefit the students the most, by giving everyone an equal footing and improved ease of changing schools. A national curriculum will also maintain a basal level of education of the students, regardless of the region and type of school.

One of the most prominent benefit of having a national school curriculum is that it will prepare every student equally for college. No student will have an unfair advantage over the other due to the type of school, private or public. The students of the far ends of the country will have the same educational background, and thus have an equal opportunity in national exams and jobs. An example of this is the CBSE board of India, which maintains the textbooks for schools all over the country. This implies that a student from Kashmir and Kerala can apply for the same jobs or positions, since they will have the same educational background.

Another obvious advantage of such a national curriculum is that students will be able to easily change schools. Many students lose out on their education when they transfer from one place to anther. Such students have to adapt to their new school environment and people, in addition to the new textbooks. A common textbook followed throughout the country will remove the need to adapt. The KVK schools all over India is an excellent example of this. The chain of KVK schools were created with the intent to help the children of army personnel, who transfer frequently, adapt to their new school. Thus, the students did not lose out on their education and could easily change schools.

Indeed, it can be argued that a national curriculum has several loopholes as well. It is true that a common curriculum maintained by the government can be misused for propaganda purposes. Parts of history or facts could be conveniently left out of textbooks which do not align with the government’s ideals. But such abuse of the textbooks can be prevented by giving the control over to an independent body, with no political or religious ties whatsoever.

In conclusion, a common national curriculum can help students gain equal education and opportunities. It can also make changing schools easier with no loss of education. Overall, the pros outnumber the cons and can be feasibly implemented.