The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that KNOW radio can no longer succeed as a rock-and-roll music station. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of rock-and-roll music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. We predict that switching KNOW radio from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will allow the station to attract older listeners and make KNOW radio more profitable than ever."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the context, the manager concludes that if the KNOW radio station turn to a 24 hours radio station then it will able to get attention of more listeners & thus achieve more profit than before. Ddelineated in this straightforward way, the author fails to answer several cardinal questions on which the argument can be judged.He notes that the listeners of over 50 years old increased while the total number of listeners & rock & roll music sales had decreased. Though he has given these evidences to supplmental his logic behind the decision, intensive scrutiny view of that proofs reveals that there are an abundance of loopholes laying into that reasons which made the reasons unwarranted. Hence, the argument can be considered unpersuasive & need more tranchant analysis for evaluating.

Firstly, the author stated that the listeners over fifty years old has increased greatly but the did not provide any specific value for this compare to the total number of people. It might be happened that the compared to the total number of people this increament is not much. So this is a mere assumption without much solid ground. Another thing the cites that the total number of people has curtailed. Again, he did not provide no specific value this. It might be happened that the people before are 100 & now after decreased it become 95. So this may not be a huge decrement. Hence this assumption need to be more specific with some solid number to evaluate the conclusion the author has been made.

Secondly, the author states that the in stores the rock & roll music sales has decreased. This is not partinent issue with the radio profit because it might be happened that people are listening music in radio rather buying it form the stores. This reduce of music sales does not indicate that people has losen interest in rock & roll music. Besides this, the manager wanted to shift this radio station to a news station as the neighboring cities have gotten success in new station. However, the authot here fails to see that it is actually more difficult to be successful in a market where there are some radio station already who are already got attention from the listeners. Do the new news station get the same attention instantly? This question can be answered if we can what isthe prespective the manager has taken to be a unique news station.

Finally, the argument can warranted if we can know the actual percentage of the total number of listeners decreased ; this can be done by conducting a survey. Additionally, hiow many people in the city still have interest in rock & roll music need to be known to make the argument strengthen. Lastly, the manager should give some idea of what is the action of plan to be unique news station among the lot of successful news staion. This is really cardinal to achieve the success in the news station industry.

In summary, the author argument is unwarranted as it fails to provide answers of certain assumptions. To buttress it further, the auhtor must provide some concrete evidence, perhaps by conducting a survey among the city residents to know how many people still have interest in rock & roll music.