The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims here adding a bicycle lane can be a more perfect resolution of the conundrum of the rush hour traffic on the blue highway rather than widen the road. Narrated in this way , the argument distorts the view of the situation by manipulating facts & by providing poor reasoning. In support of this recommendation the author reasons that as the other road green higway faced last year excerbate traffic after widen their road , the blue highway may face the same situation. However, Careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the authors recommendation. Hence the argument can be considered unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the condition of Blue highway & Green highway are same. But this is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, the editor specifically defined that blue highway position as it connects the suburbs with city centers but he didn't reveals the green highway location. Maybe the green highway connects a city where there are more residents, therefore traffic density are more there. Beside this there are no specific sign in the statement that both the green & blue road width are same. What if the green highway road has less width that blue highway, so after widen it again faced traffic. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated about the location and width of the two highway.

The argument readily cites the assumptions without thinking about the time factor here. The commuters specifically complained about the traffic during the rush hour & they are not bothering about the other time traffic situation of the day. Without giving impact on this factor the editor neglect the decision of widening the road compare with Green highway. Though green highway has faced worst traffic after widening their road but here the author didn't mention about the time when or what time of the day the green highway faced that. Maybe it works only for few two-three hours which are the rush hours & rest of the day wedening is not work,But there is no specific statement about this. This again is a weak & unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between highway Blue & Green.

Finally , the author notes that adding a bicycle lane can be a resolution of the problem as most of the resident are keen bicyclists. But we look deliberately then this reasoning provides meager credible support for the authors conclusion in several critical respects , and raises several skeptical questions’ instance , what happened if maximum residents office or school are far way from their house & they want to use the motor car instead of bicycle during rush hour. Another vague assumption here it did not mention any number sense or percentage that how many bicylist there are & how there age is. If most of the bicylsit are not adult then adding bicycle lane would not solve the problem. Rather , this extra bicycle lane can narrow the road which can create this problem more convoluted. So without convincing answers to these questions , the reader is left wth the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinker rather than substantive evidence.

In epilogue , the authors argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence ,perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of the blue highway rush hour traffic problem. Finally , to better assess the argument , it would be necessary to know more information about why the widening the road is neglected over adding a bicycling lane to blue highway for reducing the rush hour traffic.