Essay topics: The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

Space probes is often seen as an ambitious and cherished projects that governments undertake to uncover useful information about the universe. Historically, unmanned space probes had dominated these missions as there was a dearth of technology to send mankind into space. As technology and humanity progresses, sending a man into space became a reality when Soviet and American space voyages began to blossom. Unmanned space flights are now limited to carry out some support activities to the International Space Station and orbitals. The argument tries expresses its disagreement with the above developments opining that save costs and risks, unmanned space probes are no different than manned space probes.

The assumption that cost and risk factor are the only differences between manned and unmanned space probes is clearly ambiguous. the argument depends only on this factor to augment its stance towards the effectiveness of unmanned space missions. What is there are other factors that can impede or imbibe the claim stated in the letter ? There are a number of other reasons that come to play in the argument. One such thing is the training that the astronauts are given. Even though these experts are trained rigorously in adapting to the conditions in space, there is no warranty on whether all astronauts sent to space shall not falter at any point. This can induce more costs required to sustain them at space. Unmanned space probes in such scenario prove to be a viable and better alternative.

However, none can deny the fact that manned space missions have an edge over unmanned missions as the astronauts at space ensure that the flight and in turn the probe is under their control and they are instinctively better to react to any atypical scenario that might surface in space. Compared to the, mechanical and artificially programmed systems on unmanned flights are able to handle only scenarios very well defined in their programs.

The opinion in the letter also does not provide sufficient evidences to strengthen its claim that unmanned space missions cost less than their manned counterparts. How are costs for both the distinct operations measured and compared ? Despite the cost of providing to the astronauts needs like oxygen cylinders, food, unmanned space probes also carry their fair share of expenses. Designing and Programming robots and systems capable of spearheading an entire project and managing a flight in space orbit is by itself an expensive task. It involves the cost of hardware required to program and maintain the system. But more importantly, it costs a lot more to hire skilled professionals and technicians who can design such systems. With such costs incurred, unmanned space flights need not always be more economical.

Finally, to conclude which of the two modes of operations has an upper hand, one needs to determine the variables and factors like individual costs and risks involved in undertaking both the missions and not just assuming them. From one point of view, an approach may appear viable and more efficient. But only after a deeper introspection of the approach with same factors in mind do we get to know how that approach weighs against another.