Essay topics: "Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The argument presented here by the author is claiming that to get the advertising contracts and to attract more viewers to the channel, the time devoted to national news in the late-night news program should be replaced by local news and weather information. This argument is somehow correct but calls for other evidences to support the claim. Following evidences are the reasons which can be nullified only in the presence of the evidences, which are absent in the argument.

Starting with the timing mentioned, the late-night programs are now devoting more time to national news but lesser time to the national news and weather news, it highlights that they have not completely removed the national news and weather news. Both are still present, then cause of less viewership can be the time frame allocated to the national news and the weather news, not the duration of the program. Hence, removing the national programs entirely from the late-night programs could not be inferenced as a solution.

Moreover, as they mentioned that now only they have started running the national news in the late-night program, there could be other reason affecting the viewership rather than the program like behaviour pattern. For example, in winters people tend to sleep early due to decreased temperatures at nights, whereas in summers people usually sleep late. Change in viewership could be affected by this factor. The author should provide a summary of actual viewership and percent drop in the viewership considering all the possible factors in the mind.

Additionally, the author has not provided any quantitave analysis on the number of advertising contractors. Evidences which shows that the less viewership due to the national news in the late-night programs is not presented. Lack of evidence on this part calls for more specific reasons for loss of advertising contracts. Other reason for the loss of contractors could be external. Other channels might be offering them lucrative package for the advertisement so only blaming the late-night programs with national news coverage is not right.

Lastly, there is no evidence available that viewers do not like the national news. Only this is mentioned that the viewership decreased during the late-night programs. There could be a possibility that viewers want to watch the national news but the content presented is not engaging and interesting to bind the viewers. Any remarks or surveys on the dislikeness of the national news is not presented so we cannot infer that viewers do not like the national news.

All the above mentioned points are weakening the fact that pulling the local news and the weather news back for longer duration and removing the national news from the late-night programs, will eventually help to keep the advertising customers with news channel. The author should provide more evidences which can answer the above mentioned pointwill help in determining the actual reason for loss of viewership and customers.