"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The argument presented by the author is stating that according the advertising director of the Super Screen Movies Production Company, the allocation of greater share of company's budget to the advertising of the Super Screen Movies can fetch more public's attention towards the quality of the movie, which will in turn increase the public's attendance. However, it seems too direct to establish a cause and effect relationship between the advertising amount and public attention to the Super Screen-produced movies on the basis of the provided argument. The argument fails in many serious aspects to produce that direct relationship. The following points/ provisos mentioned, if present/ providded in the argument could shed more light on the weakness of argument as valid and convincing.

First of all, it is given that during the past year, fewer people attended the Super screen-produced movies than in any other year. The author did not give account of the advertising budget of the past year in comparsion with the other years. It is not told in the argument whether the budget for the advertising was decreased last year, which resulted in less viewership. There could be other reason present during the past year apart from the advertising which caused the fall for example, movie clash at the theatre that is other competitive movie is being played in the same slot or more famous movie is being released at the same time etc. Therefore, only increasing adveretising would not reap any benefits for increment of viewership.

Moreover, the author did not give any information about the authenticity of the mentioned movie reviews. Additionally, it is not being compared with the other movie's reviews at the same time. A movie with more positive reviews by the movie reviewers may be fetching all the moviegoers at the same time. The author did not mention about the quality of the reviews as well. There is a possibility that may be reviews are more in quantity, but not convincing for public to attend the movie. Hence, only accounting the results for super screen-produced movies and comparing it with contemporary rival movies is decreasing the strength of the argument presented.

Finally, the argument did not consider other possible reason for less viewership in the movie such as economic condition, if there's any economic crisis in the nation and at that time more people reduced their cost by not going to movies, then blaming dearth of advertising will be wasteful. Other reason can be the odd timing of the shows which in turn is decresing the count of movie goers.

Hence, only increasing the advertising budget for the super screen-movies may ot fetch the desired results of higher viewership because it does not posess direct relationship between the two factors. Above mentioned points should be considered also before deciding the allocation of share to advertising of the super-screen movies. To make argument more convincing, the author should come up with more comparison and data on the factors which may effect the viewership as mentioned.