Evidence suggests that academic honor codes, which call for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated, are far more successful than are other methods at deterring che

The author implicates that honor codes are more successful to deter cheating among students at colleges and universities based on a recent survey and a consistent drop of cheating in Groveton College. Alternative explanations might challenge the proposed explanations, indicating that the argument might be untenable.

Firstly, an alternative explanation exists when the author interprets that cheating has decreased from 21 to 14 times during the past five years when honor codes began to be implemented. In particular, it might be possible that students showed more proficiency and invested more dedication in preparing examinations, which caused fewer cases of cheating. Or, the examinations become more and more easy to be designed, and students did not necessarily cheat for higher grades. If the possible scenarios are true, the author’s explanation that the honor code is instrumental for students to diminish cheating might is indefensible.

Secondly, another alternative explanation can be that recent survey does not show the facticity of the situation for cheating in Groveton college. The reason why alternatives could question the validity is that students involved in the survey can veil the truth about cheating. Generally speaking, if students found others who were cheating during the academic endeavors and chose not to say it out, the explanation assumed by the author might be implausible. A majority of students constitutes sixty percent in all students in Groveton College or above ninety percent, which might suspect the representative of the sampled students. Another explanation might be sixty percent of students who participated in this survey, which might show that the honor code might be not efficacious to dwindle cheating.

Speculating that honor code can successfully minify the number of cheatings, arguing whether the imitation can feasibly work in other colleges and universities should have more alternative explanations. For example, teachers strong object to enforcement of the honor code because this policy should need self-discipline of students. If they find that students are less self-disciplined and always unveil the information of cheatings among others, this action would jeopardize students’ learning and fail to build trustworthiness and forthrightness. Therefore, only by investigating more schools and more teachers’ attitudes towards the honor code, can the readers be more persuasive to believe the feasibility.

In conclusion, although in every college or university, teachers and educational experts intend to optimize the pedagogical way to optimize students’ performances, they should ponder alternative explanations to vindicate efficiency and practicality of the honor code. Had the author input these possibilities, the author’s opinion might have been more shining.