“Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.”Write a response in whic

Art and culture are pleasure based on satisfaction of making basic survival. People can attain relax after burdensome work and have a makeshift leave from mundane life when they listen to music, appreciate painting or sculpture, or reading novels. Therefore, it is incumbent for government to allot money to ensure that art can prosperous and be accessible to commoners. Although inappropriate investment of government to art may compromise the integrity of the arts, it still has antidote to show advantages of government funding to arts.

As the advent of technology and the prevalent influence of mass media, indigenous culture diminishes and even be extinct but exotic culture are immersive to most commoners’ lives. Government has obligation to preserve indigenous culture and trigger audiences’ attention and preference. In Chinese teenagers’ phone playing 7 rings from the latest album of Ariana Grande-Thank you, next, none of them would like to listen to Beijing opera. Because it is the cultural treasure of China although it is distant to audience and has fluctuant rhythms to difficultly be learned, Chinese government and CCTV should design TV shows or look for some celebrity endorsement to deliver spirit of Beijing opera. As successor of cultural treasure, it needs some artists with artisan to perform Beijing opera.

Government allocation to arts can be reflected in building museums. Museums invested by government can be open to all people for free or several bucks, that invites more commoners to visit there and appreciate art works such as painting, sculpture, and calligraphy. National Museum in China can be visited for free and it is also a base of teenager education. All visitors can enhance patriotism if they watch sculptures of brave soldiers in the Anti-Japan war. Evolution of calligraphy from xingshu to kaishu can be illustrated so that visitors can know profoundness of Chinese traditional culture. They can also be thrilled by exquisiteness of handcrafts after seeing crisp silk skirt worn by princess in Qing Dynasty and delicate ceramic dishware used by the aristocratic emperors hundred years ago.

Some people confirm that government subsidy to art would compromise the integrity of art. The reason behind it is that government would inculcate politicization and beatification of rulers’ image to artists and force them to add bureaucracy and hypocrisy into their art works. Consequently, their works must be bias to praise government rather than marring politicians and governmental officials. In addition, government inclines to fund the certain art they prefer, and then other arts would be neglected and gradually diminished. But this result can be avoided by handing over the power to an institution sponsored by government. Government’s duty is only to provide money to this institution rather than control creation of art works. In that case, government would play an active role to preserve and develop art without restriction. If artists funded by this institution tend to show homosexuality in painting, government should not meddle in it. If they desire to show corruption of bureaucratic politicians in TV series or movies, government should not intervene in fear of being shamed. Another example is Guernica painted by Picasso to prove that government funding to art does not pollute the integrity of art, instead, this paint shows the suffering of people and animals wrenched by violence and chaos created by Nazi Germany after Nazi regime plummeted the bomb into Guernica. Picasso was commissioned by Spanish government to create a large mural for Spanish display at Paris International Exposition. Government commission to Picasso shows anti-war resolution of Spanish government and mourning for innocent people.

Government is the main propagator of art and government endowment can make art popularize among people and become in blossom. Although government funding would pollute the purity and integrity of art, government can hand over the power to an affiliated community without meddling in art development to ensure purity and diversity of art. Then, the advantages of government funding to art outweighs the disadvantages.