Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

The author concludes that in Omega University, to make their graduate students get job need to terminate student evaluation process of professors. Author uses the evidence that professors were deliberately assigning higher grades to students to get better evaluation from students. However, employers believed that the grades were inflated, and they do not reflect student’s achievement accurately. As a result, Omega graduates were not able to secure job as have the graduates from Alpha University. Even though the argument looks fine but meticulous analysis shows that certain evidence needs to be mentioned to justify its validity.

Firstly, the author implies that professors gave higher grades to students to get better evaluation from them. Although, the increase in marks could be because of increase efforts from professors to get better evaluation from students. If there were such an evidence provided, then the evaluation process would not have any impact on grades. However, there may be some brilliant students who may find it unethical to give higher grades to every student. Such evidence from author would further weaken the argument.

Secondly, the author assumes that by terminating the student evaluation process, it reduces the authenticity of grades of Omega students. However, it might be possible that Omega students are less study oriented than Alpha students. Any such evidence would further weaken the argument, despite based on a false premise that employers are giving jobs to Omega University based on grades. There might be a possibility that employers were seeking students with certain courses which was provided by Alpha university.

Thirdly, the author assumes that there were no significant changes in exam process in the last 15 years, or the quality of students enrolled in last 15 years. However, it might be possible that students enrolled in Omega University are brighter than their previous batches. In addition, there is no such evidence provided by the author regarding the changes in exam pattern or the quality of students which would further strengthen the argument.

Thus, this argument lacks substantial evidence and facts which would play a vital and significant role in recognising its validity.