Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

First, to assume KICK station will receive more responses by including call-in advice programs isn’t a valid argument, to strengthen this argument, we need to find holes in this argument.

First, just because of call-in advice programs, audience have increased, this assumption is totally vague. If station plays different selections for music like old-80s or latest pop songs, this might be the reason for increase audience as well. Does the station play a soap channels which could elicit more audience to tune in? Additionally, there might be the case where the audience tune in to listen call-in advice programs but eventually end up looking different programs which station offers. We do not know what the different channels and different entertainment facilities are provided by the station in this argument. Therefore, this argument can be strengthened if the author gives more details about different programs or segments offered by the station in conjunction with the call-in advice programs.

Second, how accurate is the survey that showed audience tend to listen call-in advice programs? What is the sample size? What were the questions asked in the survey? Were the questions specific to the call-in program segments or they include other segments as well? If the questions were asked in such a way such that audience inevitably chose call-in advice programs, then it supports a lack of claim to support this argument. To strengthen the argument, the author should mention details which would give answers to above questions.

Third, the success that have worked for KICK station might not work for Rockville station. For example, may be the audience of Medway station likes hot topics such as politics or economics over call-in advice programs. May be there are audiences which like to listen music of different genres. Demography do come in picture and matters a lot. If there are younger audiences, then they might listen to rock, pop music as compared to old people who likes to listen old melodies from the 80s or 90s. Thus, to strengthen this argument, we must know the preferences of audiences in Rockville station

In conclusion, Rockville station should not assume that they will generate same success which KICK station received if they incorporate call-in advice programs. We need to understand several factors in order to strengthen this argument like different programs/segments offered by KICK station, method and sample size of survey conducted, demography etc.