The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

The council’s prediction on passing its proposed measures is based on flawed and unwarranted assumptions for numerous reasons. The argument fails to develop a cogent case in developing a logical relation between its proposed measures and its likely outcome.

Expressing concerns about the Maple county getting overdeveloped, the council has proposed several measures. It is however unclear that what does the council signifies as over develop. Is it the gross development product? Or total industrial or trade growth. The author fails to describe the meaning of overdevelopment in this context. Hence there should be some statistical ways, some opinions of different economists which would have strengthen the argument.

The argument drastically fails to develop any logical relation between overdevelopment and curbing supply of houses and limiting supply of farmlands. It may be true that increase housing means increase in population, but how it can signify over development? The council can check over development by determining different parameters like trade growth, industrial growth, GDP growth, increasing tax rates or may be diminishing trade relations with different countries for stipulated period.

Moreover, the council extrapolated the results of its proposed measures based on measures implemented in nearby Pine and Chestnut counties, assuming the economy will remain unchanged over the period of ten years. It is highly prevalent the economic growths, housing development and land costs were different in different countries in the last ten years as compared to today’s Maple. There can be direct impact of climate and culture on the doubling of prices of houses in Pine country as compared to moderate increase in Chestnut county. Instead of entirely relying on past outcomes, the council should establish new method to predict future and take appropriate decisions by taking different opinions of different analysts and economists in consideration and study if similar measures were taken by any county which lead to reduction of prices of houses. Curbing housing developments can have indirect impact on its population which may result in migration of people from Maple County to any different region this effectively damaging Maple County in general.

Examining all the factors above if the council passes its proposed measures for curbing housing developments then it will a different outcome than expected, Thus a deeper study and scientific scrutiny is needed before passing any measures.