Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons.Primarily the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that decrease in the number of jobs secured by graduates from omega university is mainly because of students evaluating professors.

The argument fails to provide a strong reason why the grades of the students have gone up by 30% after the implementation of new evaluation procedure.It does mention that teachers are giving good grades to students so that they get a goo feedback from their side but there might be other reasons as well.As this was implemented 15 years ago , the new generation of students joining in the university might have a better intelligent quotient or the curriculum is not competent enough.The reason also might be that the teachers are sharing the important questions with the students or the exams are not being conducted with a proper decorum. Hence the school might analyse all the factors and should observe how the students are performing during the lectures and whether any change is to be brought in the syllabus material which wiil be relevant to todays market.

The argument also says that the students in Alpha university are faring better than Omega when it comes to getting jobs.But it only considers one factor and overlooks the others which assess why students are getting jobs.Alpha university might have a different curriculum which is relevant to the current market .The students in the universiyt might be more intelligent and harworking when compared to Omega.The location of the university also plays an important role in their students getting placed in companies.Hence the placement officials of the University must enquire and juxtapose the above mentioned criteria of the two universities and then come to a conclusion.This will surely enlighten them to what extent the evaluation methods are affecting the jobs of the students.

The argument should also consider the duration of 15 years which brings a significant change in the job market.Every University is famous for one of the subjects and the students usually get jobs based on that.Hence the university should make a check on the current trends in the market and revise their syllabus per that.This will attract the employers who would prefer a industry ready graduate and this might help the university get back their lost glory.

Therefore all these factors play a major role in determining how well a college is in helping their students get jobs.The argument only considers one factor which is the students evaluating the teachers and hence should take a holistic approach while making a decision as it affects a lot of lives.