A folk remedy for insomnia, the scent in lavender flowers, has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. During the second week, the volunteers discontinued their medication. As a result, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. This shows that over a short period of time lavender cures insomnia.

The author's claim regarding the folk remedy for insomnia, the scent in lavender flowers. According to the author lavender cures insomnia in a very short period is quite inconceivable. As found in a study where 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where sleep was monitored, During these three weeks different experiment were performed with there sleep and results were observed.During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. During the second week, the volunteers discontinued their medication. As a result, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks.

Author claim that lavender scented pillow cures chronic insomnia based on a study is absurd, there is no authentic proof for the study and there are no mention of the type of people, there age, gender or the duration of time since when they were suffering from insomnia. The study might we be applicable for a certain group of people and might not be for the other group of people suffering from insomnia. Hence to come on a lucid result we need more information about the volunteers.

Along with this author's statement that it cures insomnia just because those 30 volunteers had a sound sleep in the third week is a false genralisation since as they continued there medication in the third week while discotinuing it in the second, there is a high passuibilty that because they were already sleep deprived last week and contuing there medication helped them sleep well in the next week and the lavender scented pillow had no major cause in this sound sleep. Along with that just because they slept better than the last two weeks never implied that there insomnia is cured and they wont suffer any more in the future.

Therfore it can't be completely stated for sure that the lavender-scented pillows are a certain cure for insomina and also we need to study more deeply and there should be more number of experiments on different kind of people before any concerte results can be infered.