The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist, it is stated that the interview-centered method is a much more accurate method in understanding social traditions than the observation-centered method. The author asserts his conclusion based on his findings of child rearing in the island of tertia. However, the author supports his argument with three unstated assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the child rearing tradition in the island of tertia has remained unchanged in the last twenty years. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps, things have changed drastically in this twenty years. Twenty years is a long enough period for another generation of biological parents to come forward, and the new generation might have broken the age old tradition that once was dominate in this island. Is is also possible that due to some outside influence, the break in the cycle has occurred. In this present day, where technology is advancing in a rapid pace, and social interactions are increasing, it is very much possible that the island of tertia has been exposed to other societies and cultures, where the rearing of children is done by their biological parents rather than any outsider of the village. If either of these two scenarios is true, then the author’s conclusion about the interview-centered method being better than the observation-centered method is flawed and his assertion does not hold water.

Secondly, the author is assuming that the interview-centered method is verisimilitude to the actual environment the children are exposed to in their day to day life. However, this is a very strong assumption, and very likely to be wrong. It is possible that because the children were interviewed in a “LAB-LIKE” environment, they felt nervous, and gave answeres in the way the researchers wanted them to answer. Which can be deemed fabricated, and obscures the actual scenario. If this is proved true, then the validity of the author’s argument is surely damaged.

Finally, the author has assumed that because his results have been satisfactory in the island of tertia, it will hold ground in every other island cultures. But this may not necessarily be true. Perhaps, in other islands the observation-centered method will give results much more accurately. The author might not have enough “DATA POINTS” based on research of just one island to conclude this definitely. Again, in some islands the local population might not allow others to interview them. In that case, is there any better method other than observation? If this is true, then the author’s claim is not warranted.

In conclusion, it is possible that the interview-centered method is better than the observation-centered method. However, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unfounded assumptions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, the author needs to provide additional evidence to buttress his argument.